18 February 2019

The 5th National Research Conference in Science and Mathematics Education will take place at the Oriental Hotel in Legazpi City on February 28 – March 1, 2019.

This is an annual gathering of science and mathematics teachers and would-be teachers who are recipients of the scholarship under the Capacity Building Program in Science and Mathematics Education (CBPSME) of the Department of Science and Technology - Science Education Institute (DOST-SEI).

With the theme “STEM Towards Education 4.0”, the Conference aims to highlight the STEM education – stepping it up and aligning it towards the Fourth Industrial Revolution.

STEM experts from Singapore: Mr. Johnson Ong Chee Bin, an AUN Quality Assurance Expert; Dr. Imelda S. Caleon, Senior Research Scientist from Nanyang Technological University; and Dr. Ian June L. Graces, Associate Professor from the Ateneo de Manila University will grace the event as plenary speakers on special topics.

There will also be poster and oral presentations featuring the scholars’ research outputs. About 350 scholars and their mentors from universities in Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao are expected to attend the event.

Through this Conference, the DOST-SEI provides a venue for the scholars, scholar-graduates and thesis/dissertation grantees from various consortium-universities to meet each other and share the outputs of their theses and dissertations. This will also be an opportunity for the graduate scholars, their advisers, and science and mathematics educators to establish linkages for potential collaborative undertakings. 

The implementation of the CBPSME is in cooperation with the National Consortium in Graduate Science and Mathematics Education (NCGSME), which administers PhD and MS scholarships in science and mathematics education. It is composed of the following member-universities: Ateneo De Manila University; Bicol University; Central Luzon State University; De La Salle University; Mariano Marcos State University; Mindanao State University-Marawi; Philippine Normal University; UP College of Education, UP Open University; University of San Carlos; Western Mindanao State University; West Visayas State University; and its four new member-universities: Cebu Normal University; Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology; Leyte Normal University; and Saint Mary’s University.